President  Margaret Kennedy Captain (Association) Marjorie Grant
Vice President  Alan Holding  Captain (Golf) Helen Brierley


It was very exciting for Echuca members on Thursday of last week when they woke up to the news that the NSW border had been opened for Victorian residents of the “bubble”. This meant that after two long months they were allowed to play croquet at Rich River again.

A few were quick enough to obtain border crossing permits and join their NSW counterparts at croquet that morning. Golf Croquet Captain Helen Brierley is now back at the helm and the club wants to thank members Fiona Larcombe and Anne Dodd for the great job they did organising club play in Helen’s absence.

On Thursday there were 14 players playing doubles and a single.  There were three three-game winners:  Russ Smyth with +14, Anne Dodd with +11 and Helen Brierley with +8.

On Tuesday of this week there were 16 participants playing singles.  Four players won all three of their games. The winner had a nett hoop score of +11, followed by Ian Grant on +7 and Dave Maher and Helen Brierley tied on +6. Dave was just ahead of Helen on a countback. Hoops in one were scored by Anne Dodd, Marg Kennedy and Pam Kane.

It’s recommended that adults complete at least 150 minutes of moderate exercise each week. More than half of all adults do not meet these guidelines, and croquet is an enjoyable way of getting exercise with great mental and social benefits. Marjorie Grant at Rich River Croquet Club is always happy to coach newcomers and can be contacted on 5480 9985.